OBCs raise issues in one day convention

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 22: One day OBC convention was held here under the chairmanship of Mangal Dass Verma.
On the occasion, Rashpal Verma, Vice Chairman OBC Advisory Board and MoS was the chief guest, while people from Jammu Kathua, Udhampur, Samba, Reasi and Rajouri district also participated in the convention.
While speaking on the occasion, Mangal Dass Verma highlighted that all over India OBCs quota is 27 per cent but in J&K it is only 2 per cent. Such reservation for upliftment of backward classes is serving no purpose, he added. He appealed that roster point be shifted to 9 and 59 to overcome lacuna in reservation policy.
Satpal Verma and Purshotam Chargotra said that hundreds of State OBCs have been deprived of central quota due to non-serious approach of revenue officers, he said, adding that majority of Central Government posts in J&K are being filled with outsiders due to non-issuance of central OBC certificates. He said GAD has also clarified that State OSC certificate is not a precondition for central OBC certificate.
Madan Lal Chalotra said that there is immediate need to increase the income bar from Rs 4.5 lakh to Rs 6 lakh as Central Government has already increased it in 2013. Static income bar has further nullified the benefit of reservation to OBCs in J&K, he added.
Shashi Verma, President, Vishwakarma Sabha reiterated the demand of Vishwakarma Day holiday.
On the occasion, a memorandum of demands addressed to Chief Minister, who is also Chairman of all Advisory Boards, was also handed over to Rashpal Verma.
While speaking, Rashpal Verma assured the OBCs that he will try his best to get the justified demands fulfilled. He said Government has already initiated many schemes for the welfare and upliftment of OBC people.
Earlier, Jagdish Pandey while presenting the welcome address raised several issues of OBC category, while Balwant Kataria conducted the proceedings of the convention.
Among others present were Jagdish Pandey, Sham Lal Kashyap, Mahnu Devi, Bishamber Ram Lamberdar, Rattan Lal, Shamsher Kumar Prajapati, Master Purshotam Singh, Lakhanpal Salaria, Captain Lal Chand, Neetu Verma, Yashpal, etc.