Both Houses pay homage to deceased leaders

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 2: On the first day of the Budget Session, both the Houses of State Legislature paid homage to former Governor of the State Lt General (Retd) S K Sinha, former Union Minister, Mohammad Shafi Qureshi, former Deputy Chief Minister Mangat Ram Sharma, former Member Parliament, Mohammad Shafi Bhat, former Minister Ghulam-ud-Din Shah, former Legislators Prithvi Chand, Aziz Mohammad Qari, and Dharambir Singh Oberio, who passed away in recent past.
In the Legislative Assembly, Speaker Kavinder Gupta moved the Obituary Reference and said that besides being one of the finest military mind, Lt General (Retd) S K Sinha was a prolific writer having written a series of articles in national newspapers and has authored five books including one on J&K operation of 1947-48 and his autobiography (A Solider Recalls).
“The services rendered by late General will always be remembered by the nation”, he added.
Paying tributes to Mohammad Shafi Qureshi, the Speaker said that late leader was known for his political wisdom and secular character and will always be remembered for the services rendered for the overall development of country in general and Jammu and Kashmir in particular.
Paying rich tributes to Mangat Ram Sharma, the Speaker said that late leader will always be remembered as a “popular leader of the masses” who had remarkable social and political contributions at his credit. He worked throughout his life tirelessly for the upliftment of the weaker and downtrodden sections of the society, he added.
About Mohammad Shafi Bhat, the Speaker said that the late leader throughout his political career worked for the betterment and welfare of the people of the State in general and of his constituency in particular. His contributions on political and social front will always be remembered by the generations to come, he added.
The Speaker also paid rich tributes to Ghulam-ud-Din Shah, Prithvi Chand, Aziz Mohammad Qari and Dharambir Singh Oberio and lauded their contribution for the socio-economic development of the State and self-less services to the people of their areas.
The Deputy Chief Minister, Dr Nirmal Singh also paid rich tributes to the late leaders and highlighted their contribution in the development of the State and services to the masses in different capacities. He specifically hailed the contribution of Pt. Mangat Ram Sharma and described him the leader of masses who was widely respected by people irrespective of region and class.
Mohammad Shafi, Nawang Rigzin Jora, M Y Tarigami, Hakim Mohammad Yasin, Sat Sharma, Mohammad Yousuf Bhat, Abdul Rashid Sheikh, Bashir Ahmed Dar and Pawan Gupta also paid rich tributes to the late leaders and lauded their services.
In the Legislative Council, Chairman Haji Anayat Ali moved the Obituary Reference and highlighted the contribution of the legislators who passed away during the period from last session.
The Chairman paid rich tributes to Lt General (Retd) S K Sinha, Mohammad Shafi Qureshi, former Union Minister, Mangat Ram Sharma, (Ex-DyCM), Mohammad Shafi Bhat, (former MP), Ghulam-ud-Din Shah, (Ex-Minister), Prithvi Chand (Ex-MLA), Aziz Mohammad Qari (Ex-MLC) and Dharambir Singh Oberio, sitting MLC and lauded their contributions for the State and the country.
Minister for Education Naeem Akhtar while participating in the Obituary Reference paid tributes to deceased leaders and stated that all the deceased leaders have played important role in the development of the state.
Legislators who also paid tributes to these leaders include Surinder Mohan Ambardar, Surinder Kumar Choudhary, Jehangir Hussain Mir, Vibod Gupta, Yasir Reshi, Naresh Kumar Gupta, Ajat Shatru Singh, Jugal Kishore Sharma, Firdous Ahmad Tak, Ashok Khajuria, Saif-ud-Din Bhat, Sofi Yousuf, Ramesh Arora, Zafar Iqbal Manhas, Khursheed Alam, Charanjeet Singh, Vikramaditya Singh and Yashpal Sharma.