Demonetization halted growth of economy: Cong

Congress leaders Raman Bhalla, Vikram Malhotra and others at a meeting in Jammu on Sunday.
Congress leaders Raman Bhalla, Vikram Malhotra and others at a meeting in Jammu on Sunday.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Feb 19: The Jammu & Kashmir Pradesh Congress Committee leaders have alleged that demonetization has halted the growth of economy in the state and the country.
Addressing a public meeting at Prem Nagar here today, senior PCC leaders Raman Bhalla, Vikram Malhotra, Manmohan Singh, Namrata Sharma and Anil Chopra (DCC Jammu chief), as a part of nation-wide `Chaurahe Pe Charcha’ program, alleged that the economy in the country has suffered a great set back with the demonetization. They said that common man has suffered mainly while rich had no impact at all due to this act.
The PCC leaders accused the PM of unleashing financial emergency on the entire country in the form of demonetization. They accused that this decision was taken in haste without proper consultation with the prominent economists of the country and even the RBI was not involved in taking such a major step. As a result of demonetization the economy has slowed down and the GDP has also dropped.
They further said that the present Government is very weak and unstable. There is a total collapse of administration and the present Government is not working in the interest of the poor and marginalized section of the society.
Vikram Malhotra alleged that this Government has failed in addressing the aspirations of all the three regions of the State and clouds of uncertainty loom large over the State and if both the State as well as Central Government don’t act in time the State might have to face unrest again. This unholy North South combination is at the root of all discontent.
Rubina Akhter, a noted social worker joined Congress on this occasion. The programme was organised by Vikram Malhotra, PCC general secretary.
Prominent among those who spoke on the occasion included Thomas Khokhar, Tinu Khokhar, Michael Wazir, Balbir Singh, Sanjay Malhotra, Babu Shah, Nasir Massih, Vicky Chowdhary, Raj Kumar, Suresh Dogra, RK Sodi and Madhu Meena.