Breaking News:

Campaign ends today for UP phase IV polling

LUCKNOW, Feb 20:  Campaigning for the fourth phase of Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls, covering 53 constituencies in 12 districts, including Bundelkhand, will come to a close tomorrow.
AICC President Sonia Gandhi’s Rae Bareli Lok Sabha constituency will be covered in this phase, polling for which will be held on February 23.
The other districts going to polls in the fourth phase are Pratapgarh, Kaushambi, Allahabad, Jalaun, Jhansi, Lalitpur, Mahoba, Banda, Hamirpur, Chitrakoot and Fatehpur.
680 candidates will be vying for the seats in this phase.
While the maximum number of 26 candidates are in Allahabad North, only six candidates are in fray in Khaga (Fatehpur), Manjhanpur (Kaushambi) and Kunda (Pratapgarh) constituencies.
In 2012 polls, out of the 53 seats in this phase, SP won 24, BJP 5, BSP 15, Congress 6 and others 3.
Prominent among those in the fray are sitting MLA Aradhana Mishra from Rampur Khas (Pratapgarh), the daugther of Congress MP Pramod Tiwari, and Independent MLA and minister Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiya, who is again contesting from his traditional Kunda (Pratapgarh) seat.
In Sonia’s constituency Raebareli, Aditi Singh is contesting on Congress ticket, BSP turncoat Swami Prasad Maurya’s son Utkarsh Maurya is in fray from Unchahar seat, while Leader of opposition Gaya Charan Dinkar is contesting from Naraini (Banda) seat. (PTI)


Download Daily Excelsior Apps Now:


Share With
This entry was posted in National. Bookmark the permalink.