Brave hearts of Northern Command conferred with Gallantry Awards

Excelsior Correspondent

UDHAMPUR, Jan 25: Brave hearts of the Indian Army deployed in Northern Command were awarded Gallantry Awards on the eve of the 68th Republic Day.  Kirti Chakra, the second highest peace time Gallantry Award was announced to be awarded to Late Havildar Prem Bahadur Resmi and Major Rohit Suri.
The grateful nation also honored eight of its brave hearts of Northern Command with Shaurya Chakra which is the third highest gallantry award and is awarded to personnel for acts of valour, and self sacrifice in peacetime. The list also includes award of Sena Medal (Gallantry) and Mention-in-Despatches for Operation Rakshak and Operation Meghdoot.
Kirti Chakra awardee, Lance Havildar Prem Bahadur Magar made the supreme sacrifice after eliminating four terrorists attempting infiltration in Tangdhar Sector of Jammu and Kashmir on June 16 last year. However, the brave martyr succumbed to a fatal gunshot wound that he received during the act. Major Suri is honored with the Kirti Chakra for displaying inspiring leadership and conspicuous gallantry while leading his team gallantly in an operation in Kashmir.
Shaurya Chakra awardees include Lt Col Atul Gupta, Major Rajat Chandra, Major Deepak Kumar Upadhaya, Captain Ashutosh Kumar, Naib Subedar Vijay Kumar, Paratrooper Abdul Qayum, Havildar Hanuman Ram Saran and Late Naik Gawade Pandurang Mahadev.  These exceptional soldiers were awarded for different acts which involved conspicuous gallantry, exceptional valour and inspiring leadership while leading men in operations.
Conveying his felicitation to the recipients of the gallantry awards, Lt Gen D Anbu, Army Commander, Northern Command, complimented all ranks of Northern Command for their exemplary Service to the nation and exhorted them to rededicate themselves to safeguard the nation’s borders and confront new challenges with professionalism and courage.