Shiv Mehta, Rahbar get Sahitya Akademi Awards

Shiv Mehta, Rahbar get Sahitya Akademi Awards
Shiv Mehta, Rahbar get Sahitya Akademi Awards

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Dec 21: Shiv Mehta and Autar Krishen Rahbar have been awarded the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Awards- 2017, for their respective short- stories, titled ‘Banna’ ( Dogri) and ‘Yeli Parda Woth’ (Kashmiri).
Sahitya Akademi today announced its annual awards recognizing the literary works of 24 writers, writing in 24 Indian languages. Seven books of novels, five of poetry, five of short stories, five of literary criticism and one of play and essays have won the Sahitya Akademi Awards 2017.
The Award in the form of a casket, containing an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl and a cheque of Rs one lakh, will be presented to the winner authors at a special function to be held on February 12, 2018 at New Delhi, during the Festival of Letters by Sahitya Akademi.
The books were selected on the basis of recommendations made by a jury of three members in the concerned language in accordance with the procedure laid down for the purpose.
Shiv Mehta of Panjtirthi Jammu is a prominent Dogri writer and stage artist, who started writing in early sixties. He has written five books and a number of drama serials for Radio Kashmir Jammu. He has already been honoured with the Akashwani Award for four times.
Autar Krishen Rahbar, born in 1933, has written short stories and plays in Kashmiri and many of his short stories have been translated into Hindi, English and other Indian languages. He is the recipient of J&K Government Cultural Academy Award, Sadiq Memorial Award and Khillat-e-Kashmir for his contribution to Kashmiri language and literature.
The Sahitya Akademi also announced Sahitya Akademi Prize for Translation-2017, which goes to Yash Raina and Iqbal Nazki for their respective work `Pichhlag’ ( Dogri translation of Gujarati novel ‘Angaliat’) and `Araam Kursi’ (Kashmiri translation of Tamil novel ‘Chaivu Narkali’).
Total 24 books in different languages were selected for the Translation Prize. This prize carries an amount of Rs 50 thousand and a copper plaque, which will be presented to the winner translators at a special function to be held later next year.