New team of Jammu Club elected

New team of Jammu Club with Returning Officer Er. Vinod Gupta. -Excelsior/Rakesh
New team of Jammu Club with Returning Officer Er. Vinod Gupta. -Excelsior/Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Dec 12: Eleven persons made it to the Executive Committee of Jammu Club as the results of the club elections were announced late this evening by the Returning Officer in the presence of contestants.
The newly elected Executive Committee members are Indu Puri, Aditya Gupta, Vikram Sharma, Kavita Gupta, Gaurav Gupta, Ashok Gandotra, Dr Sandeep Singh, Dr Uttam Singh, Ashwani Gupta, Er Ashok Sharma and Chander Kapoor.
Indu Puri secured highest votes (1456) and she was followed by Aditya Gupta and Vikram Sharma, who were polled 1375 and 1372 votes, respectively. Kavita Gupta secured 1359 votes while Gaurav Gupta was polled 1320 votes. Ashok Gandotra secured 1287 votes, Dr Sandeep Singh 1249 votes, Dr Uttam Singh 1237 votes, Ashwani Gupta 1212 votes, Ashok Sharma 1165 votes and Chander Kapoor 1095 votes.
There were total 15 contestants in the fray and voting was held today. Out of total 1678 votes, 1650 were polled and 28 were received through Postal Ballots. Total 1648 votes were declared valid while 30 were declared invalid.
The candidates, who could not make it to the Executive Committee, included Sanjeev Soni (1044 votes), Dinesh Singh Chauhan (999 votes), Er Saleem Jhangir Bandey (986 votes) and Rajni Rohmetra (970 votes).
The final results were declared by the Returning Officer, Vinod Sharma. Seema Khajooria and Ejaz Ahmed Tak were the Scrutinizers. The new Executive Members have been elected for tenure of two years.