NCP to contest Municipal, Panchayat elections: Randhir

State NCP president, Th Randhir Singh at a meeting in Jammu on Monday.
State NCP president, Th Randhir Singh at a meeting in Jammu on Monday.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Sept 3: Former Minister and state president of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Thakur Randhir Singh has said that NCP will contest Municipal and Panchayat elections at its own.
A meeting of senior leaders of NCP was held under the chairmanship of veteran leader and NCP state chief Th Randhir Singh. He welcomed appointment of Governor Satya Pal Malik.
Singh today decided to contest the forth coming Municipal and Panchayat elections in the State and said two separate committees have been constituted for Jammu and the Kashmir divisions for the short listing of candidates and he himself will be the chairman with 25 members. The list will be released shortly, he said.
The NCP president said that the state executive has decided to grant more seats to youth and women, backward and schedule caste candidates and also to the candidates who are against corruption and family rule.
Singh said that the importance of holding these elections and the seriousness accorded by the Central Government can be gauged by the fact that as on date, a whooping amount of Rs 1000 crore worth of grants stands blocked due to the elections to Panchayats and Municipal bodies not held so far.
Singh said that this vital institution of Panchayati Raj has been ignored by the previous Government headed by Mehbooba Mufti and also her predecessors Omar Abdullah and Dr Farooq Abdullah.
A 25- member committee headed by Thakur Randhir Singh include- Krishan Kumar Digra, GM Pal, Abdul Akbar Ali Chisti, Saifullah Khan, Javed F Rehman, Dr Liaquat Ali Magray, Satpal Sharma, Dr(Prof) PD Shastri, Raj Singh Jamwal, Sandeep Manhas, Er Udit Baru, Ch Karor Singh, R S Billowaria, Col Amar Singh, RS Billowaria , Bansi Lal Sodhi, Ch Dev Raj, Abhimanyu Pratap Singh Jamwal , RC Bali, Rattan Chand , Dewan Chand Bassal, Kuldeep Singh Jaral, Master Krishan Lal Trihat, Bharat Kumar, Amrinder Kour and Sakina Khan.