LIC employees stage protest demonstration

LIC employees staging protest at Rail Head Complex in Jammu on Thursday.
LIC employees staging protest at Rail Head Complex in Jammu on Thursday.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Dec 16: Massive protest demonstrations were held by LIC employees in LIC offices across the UT of Jammu & Kashmir against privatisation of Public Sector Institution and banks who are on two days strike.
The demonstrations were held under the banner of Northern Zone Insurance Employees’ Association Srinagar Division and led by Pawan Gupta, Divisional secretary and AM Tantray, president of the Association.
Speaking on the occasion at DO Cell Jammu, Gupta lambasted the NDA Government for its anti- people, anti-worker, anti-farmer policies. He strongly opposed the privatisation of Public Sector banks as the banks have earned an operating profit of Rs 197334 crore for last financial year and contributed a lot in the national development by mobilising savings of the people. Such privatisation is not in the interest of the nation, bank employees and customers, he added.
Gupta further said that the NPAs accumulated by the Public Sector banks are not due to the inefficiency of these banks but because of the benevolence of the government towards the wilful defaulters. It is unfortunate that plans are afoot to privatise the Public Sector banks and handover these banks precisely to those corporate interests that are primarily responsible for the NPAs of Public Sector institutions. The bank employees’ movement under the banner of the UFBU has rightly demanded adequate capitalisation of the banks, stringent laws to recover the bad loans from wilful defaulters and immediate halt to the destructive policy of privatisation of public sector banks, he added.
Prominent among others who spoke on the occasion included, Romesh Chand joint secretary, Dinesh Kumar Sharma vice president, Rajesh Kumar, Raj Kumar and Neelam Sharma.
In Kashmir, the main speakers were AM Tantray president, Ajaz Ahmed Dar joint secretary, Fyaz Gul- vice president, Amarjeet Singh- asst treasurer, Syed Aadil Imam, Nadeem- Ul- Rehman, Ishfaq Hussain Bandey and others.
Demonstrations were led by Ashwani Sharma in Jammu-1, RP Singh in Jammu-2, Vijay Verma at Kathua, Kuldeep Singh at Samba, Rajesh Sapolia at RS Pura, Ram Raj at Doda, Raj Kumar at Poonch, Vinod Sharma at Rajouri, Gulshan Singh Bali at Anantnag, Manzoor Ahmed Yatoo at Pulwama, Sharief Ud-Din Peer at Sopore and Bashir Ahmed Bhat at Budgam.