Kissan Union demands separate agri budget

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, July 14: All Jammu and Kashmir Kissan Union (AJKKU), has demanded separate agricultural budget at Union and State level to ensure rights to the economic farmers. This demand was raised in a meeting of Jammu province level meeting which was presided over by Ashok Sharma, former legislator and Chairman, AJKKU.
The meeting passed various resolutions with respect to the constitution of farmer and youth policies for J&K, construction of Kissan Bhawans on Tehsil level, timely supply of seeds and fertilizers, control on monkey menace, issuance of Kissan Credit Card and land passbooks, single window system for issuance of unemployment, category, PRC, income and other certificates to the farmers and requested the State Government to finalize time frame for each such event.
Ashok Sharma expressed serious concern over the mass scale bungling in flood relief 2014 distribution and MGNREGA non-payment to those who have been rendered unemployed. He demanded adequate minimum support price for food grains, fruits and vegetables being produced by the farmers and also to provide the facility of cold storage for preservation of the product of the farmers. He also called for proper use of land by different methods other than farming and make efforts that organic farming is replaced by organic tradition farming.
Dr Y P Sawhney, former MD Jammu Milk Federation who was the chief guest in the meeting impressed upon the youth and the farmers to raise dairy units at mass scale to ensure employment. He also added that agricultural policies should be made for developing interest in farming.
Advocate Sarfraz Hamid Rather said that every problem has its solution, but the implementation of solution is lacking in agriculture sector and praised the mission of AJKKU towards humanity. He also highlighted the issue of conversion of agriculture land for non-agriculture purposes and stressed the need of rain water harvesting.
Prominent among those who spoke were M K Bardwaj, former, President Bar Association, Jammu, Col B D Sharma, Vijay Sharma, Bar President, Reasi, Nakul Sharma, Ch Kabir Hussain, R S Batti, Indu Sharma, Ashwani Kumar, B C Sharma, Baljeet Manhas, Shabir Ahmed, Bodh Raj Sharma, Abdul Rashid, Gitanjali Goswami and Kailash Nath.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here