JKPYC stages protest against fuel prices, inflation

JKPYC workers staging protest at Shaheedi Chowk in Jammu.
JKPYC workers staging protest at Shaheedi Chowk in Jammu.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, July 12: Jammu and Kashmir Pradesh Youth Congress (JKPYC) staged a strong protest outside JKPCC headquarters at Shaheedi Chowk, here today, against the hike in fuel prices and sky-rocketing inflation.
The protesting workers and activists burnt the effigy of PM amidst anti-Modi and anti-BJP slogans.
Jagdeev Gaga, National secretary Indian Youth Congress, while addressing the party workers and activists, castigated the Government for having failed to control inflation. He said the common people are facing the brunt on account of this spine breaking inflation. “Replacement of the ministers of health, education and employment departments in the Union cabinet itself proves that Modi Government has failed to make efforts to provide relief to the common people on all fronts,” Gaga added.
Udhay Bhanu Chib, JKPYC president, while talking to media, said that petrol and diesel prices are at all-time high having made history, LPG prices have doubled as compared to their prices before 2014 while the prices of vegetables, fruits, edible oils, pulses, eggs and other essentials are out of reach of the common man.
Chib said while innocent people are suffering badly on account of economic slowdown, unemployment and unbridled inflation and struggling in taking care of their family against the deadly Corona infection, the Prime Minister Narendra Modi is least bothered about the miseries of the common people and is busy in expanding his cabinet and planning strategies for the upcoming assembly elections in the states. He said that the woes and miseries of the common man today are attributed to the wrong policies of the Bharatiya Janata Party Government at the Centre.
Among others who joined the protest include Aijaz Choudhary (vice president JKPYC), Ricky Dalotra, Sahil Singh Langeh, Amir Banday, Fiazy Mirza (general secretary JKPYC), Latish Sharma, Divyansh Jamwal, Barinder Partap, Jagpreet Kour, Jagjoot Singh, Ankush Raina; JKPYC secretaries, Happy Randhawa, Neeraj Choudhary, Abrar Choudhary, Ajay Salalia and Rahul Tandon; DYC presidents, Jagdeep Chahaal and Manav Choudhary; DYC vice president, Anirudh Sawhney, Sunny Jatt, Ashutosh Sharma and Surinder (AYC president).