Indian Thermodynamics Society Conference concludes at JU

A winner being awarded for her presentation during the conference at JU on Saturday.
A winner being awarded for her presentation during the conference at JU on Saturday.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Dec 3: Two days national conference of the Indian Thermodynamics Society (ITS), on the topic “Advances in Chemical Sciences and Thermodyna-mics”, concluded here today at Jammu University.
Being organized by the Department of Chemistry, JU, the conference was formally concluded by Prof Javed Musarrat, Vice-Chancellor, BGSBU Rajouri, who was chief guest in the valedictory function.  Prof  D  V  S  Jain, president, ITS;  Prof  T  S  Banipal, Secretary, ITS;  Prof. Deshbandhu Gupta , Dean Academic Affairs, JU;  Prof. Meena Sharma, Organizing Secretary and Prof  S  K  Pandey, HOD Chemistry & Convener of the ITS-2016, were also present on the dais.
Prof. Meena Sharma  declared the result of best poster/oral presentations. Total 14 invited lectures, 104 poster and 24 oral presentations were delivered by the participants from within and outside the State. In oral presentations Dr  Rajni Khajuria and  Manmeet Kour from Department of Chemistry, JU  and Ravi Sharma from LPU Jalandhar,  were declared best. In Poster presentations,  Dr  Sandeep Kumar from Department of Chemistry, JU, B. Anusha from IIT Madras, Sonika Arti from GNDU Amritsar and Akhshita Jindal from PU Chandigarh were declared best.
Prof S K. Pandey, in his concluding note, apprised the gathering about academic activities held in these two days of the conference.
Prof Javed Musarrat, recalled the contribution of eminent chemists and noble laureates. He emphasized about the laws and facts of Thermodynamics in day today life and said  that  said that interactions like the ITS meet would  inspire the young scientists to achieve excellence.
Prof. Deshbandhu Gupta,  in his address, related  Thermodynamics to the various spheres of life events.
Prof. D  V  S. Jain, president, ITS,  underlined the need to strengthen the teaching of chemistry at under-graduate level. He hoped that the senior scientists taking part in the meet would  inspire the young scientists.
Nisha Choudhary conducted proceedings of the function and Prof. Meena Sharma presented the formal vote of thanks.
More than 250 delegates, academicians, scientists and researchers of various Universities, Colleges, Research Institutes and Industries,   presented their research work in oral/Poster form.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here