CTA resents change in timing of Cluster University constituent colleges

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Sept 11: A meeting of College Teachers Association was held here today under the chairmanship of CTA President Prof D S Manhas, to discuss various representations received from the staff secretaries of the constituent colleges of Cluster University of Jammu expressing their resentment regarding change of the timings from 9 a.m to 5 p.m with five days a week and Saturday also as working day exclusively to be utilized for Research, Skilling and Co-Curricular activities.
CTA stated that as per UGC regulations, there is provision of both six days week as well as five days week with 40 hours working per week, which includes direct teaching of 16 hours for Assistant Professors and 14 hours teaching for Associate Professors.
“The Cluster University of Jammu has notified the new Timings throwing to wind the norms of UGC and making the teachers of the Constituent Colleges to work for more than 40 hours per week which is share exploitation of human resources and tantamounts to violation of UGC norms and labour laws,” the CTA members said.
CTA further stated that while changing the timings the main stake holders viz students and teachers have not been taken into confidence nor was the change of timings mentioned in the brochure of CLUJ at the time of admissions. The change of timings is being implemented in the mid session when the academic session is in full swing and classes are being carried out smoothly, meet said and pointed out that the students of Constituent colleges come from far flung areas and it is very difficult for them, particularly the female students, to adjust to the new timings at this juncture.
CTA appealed the authorities that before imposing such type of decisions on the staff and students, conducive conditions and proper infrastructure should be put in place. “Further a corrigendum be issued for observance of timings from 9.00 AM to 05.00 PM for five days a week with Saturday as off and the same may be implemented from the next session after all the stake holders are taken on board,” the Association suggested.
The meeting was attended by Dr Anil Ganjoo, Dr M S Saini, Prof Narayan, Prof Mala Bhasin,Prof Sandhya Bhardwaj, Dr Narinder, Prof Vishal, Dr Ranjod, , Dr Jagjit Singh , Prof Shrikant, Dr Sanjay. Kotwal, Dr Davinder Kour, Prof Lekh Raj and others.