Cong demands new Nowshera Distt, addl Assembly segment

PCC leader Ravinder Sharma (Ex-MLC) addressing Cong rally at Sunderbani on Sunday.
PCC leader Ravinder Sharma (Ex-MLC) addressing Cong rally at Sunderbani on Sunday.

Excelsior Correspondent
SUNDERBANI, July 25: Congress today forcefully demanded creation of new district as recommended by the Cabinet Sub Committee of Cong- NC in 2014 and additional constituency in the area comprising entire Sunderbani and other adjoining areas, in the ongoing delimitation.
A convention of Congress workers was held at Sunderbani in district Rajouri today, which passed unanimous resolutions seeking implementation of the Cabinet Sub Committee recommendations of the Cong – NC of 2014 for the creation of new district comprising Sunderbani, Nowshera and Kalakote besides demanding a new Assembly constituency comprising for entire area of Sunderbani sub district/additional district and other adjoining areas to meet the required population. The resolution opposed any attempt to bifurcate the existing Sub District /Additional District jurisdiction and area in any proposed delimitation and demanded that the existing areas under the Sunderbani sub district /ADC be kept intact.
The resolution was moved by the Block Congress Committees of Sunderbani, Devak and Siot which was moved by prominent leader, Yog Raj Sharma and unanimously passed in the presence of JKPCC chief spokesperson Ravinder Sharma, AICC coordinator Vichar Vibag Ashok Sharma Ex- MLA and presided over by DCC president and VC, DDC Rajouri Shabir Ahmed Khan.
The convention expressed serious concern over the failure of the BJP to implement the recommendations of the Cabinet Committee headed by the then Deputy Chief Minister and other members of the cabinet regarding the creation of the new districts.
The party also demanded creations of two Assembly segments in the district in view of the area and population.
Addressing the gathering Shabir Khan, Ashok Sharma and Ravinder Sharma endorsed the demand of the people and highlighted the failures of the Centre Govt and UT administration in solving the problems of the people.
Prominent among those addressed/ present in the rally included- BCC president Sunderbani, Rajesh Gupta Councillor, Lalit Mahajan-DDC member, NC Sharma, Tirth Ram, Ajit Singh, Ashok Kumar, Vaishno Dass, Chuni Lal-DDC, Om Parkash, Babu Ram Bhagat, Capt Babu Rram, Kashmir Singh, Patel Kumar, Mohinder Singh, Capt Joginder Singh Chib, Vinod Sharma, RL Prasher, Dwarka Nath and others.