BJP celebrates its grand victory

MP Jamyang Tsering Namgyal addressing party workers at Polo Ground, Leh. -Excelsior/Morup Stanzin
MP Jamyang Tsering Namgyal addressing party workers at Polo Ground, Leh. -Excelsior/Morup Stanzin

Excelsior Correspondent
LEH, May 24: BJP Leh unit celebrated its grand victory at historical Polo Ground, today.
Thousands of party workers gathered at the venue to celebrate the occasion. MP Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, BJP Ladakh Affairs Incharge MLC Vikram Singh Randhawa, MLC Chering Dorje Lakrook, Leh unit president Dorjay Angchuk, Hill Council Deputy Chairman Gyal P Wangyal, Executive Councillors, Councillors, Block Mandal presidents and workers were also present.
Expressing his gratitude to the voters for making him win with unexpected margin, Jamyang said that he fought the election for the development and prosperity of Ladakh, for unemployed youth, environmental issues and other burning issues of the region. He assured to work dedicatedly and tirelessly for all round development of Ladakh.
Pertinent to mention here that BJP candidate Jamyang Tsering Namgyal secured 42914 votes followed by independent candidates Sajjad Hussian 31984, Karbali 29365 and INC candidate Rigzin Spalbar 21241 votes, thus Jamyang won the seat by huge margin of 10984 votes against his closest rival Sajjad.
Earlier, a massive road rally was organized in which large number of party workers in motorcade accompanied MP Jamyang Tsering Namgyal to visit his home Matho village.
Meanwhile, INC candidate Rigzin Spalbar in a press statement said that “I honour with humility the verdict of people in giving a thumping victory to BJP and extend my congratulations to Shri Jamyang Tsering Namgyal for getting elected as Member of Parliament from Ladakh. I wish him success in fulfilling his commitments made to the people”.
He assured the people that he shall always continue to render constructive support in achieving their long pending common goal of Union Territory status with Legislature to Ladakh. He also thanked his party leaders, colleagues, workers, supporters and particularly the 21241 voters who voted in his favour.