Youth Congress protests against Farm Bills

Youth Congress activists during a protest demonstration at Jammu on Monday. -Excelsior/Rakesh
Youth Congress activists during a protest demonstration at Jammu on Monday. -Excelsior/Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Sept 21: Youth Congress today staged a protest demonstration against the passing of Farm Bills in Parliament and claimed that the Bills are against farmers of the country.
Dozens of Youth Congress activists assembled at Jammu Press Club holding anti-BJP posters and raised slogans against the BJP led Central government.
The protesters claimed that the Bills brought by BJP led government are totally against the farmers and these Bills will land farmers in the hands of big companies for exploitation.
The protest was led by Youth Congress leader, Uday Bhanu Chib, J&K Youth Congress President.

Click here to watch video
Addressing protesters Chib said, the bills have been brought with an intention to end Minimum Support Price operations and are against the economic interests of farming sector.
“These bills have nothing that would be seen as harnessing factor in huge potential of the agriculture sector besides it leads to taking away land of farmers,” Youth Congress leaders said adding that they would not accept the Bill passed by the Parliament.
He further said that the proposed laws are ill conceived and they will oppose them.
“Farm bills are against the federal cooperative spirit,” Chib said demanding the immediate roll back of the twin Farm Bills passed in the parliament yesterday.
He said Indian Youth Congress (IYC) is also going to organise ‘Parliament Gherao’ protest for the rights of unemployed youth and farmers on September 22, 2020 under the leadership of Krishna Allavaru IYC Incharge and Srinivas BV IYC President.
Uday Chib urged the youth to join Parliament Gherao protest.
Prominent among those who participated in the protest were Ajaz Choudhary, Vice President JKPYC; Ricky Dalotra, Mudassar Choudhary and Ranjeet Chopra-General Secretaries JKPYC; Ranjoot Singh, Barinder Partap and Jagpreet Kour-Secretaries JKPYC; Neeraj Choudhary, DYC President; Sahil Sagotra and Jagpreet Singh-Vice Presidents of DYC; Sunny Jatt and Happy Randhawa, AYC Presidents, Sunny Parihar Senior NSUI leader and others.