Youth Congress activists protest against rising fuel prices

Youth Congress activists protesting in Jammu. — Excelsior/Rakesh
Youth Congress activists protesting in Jammu. — Excelsior/Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, June 24: J&K Pradesh Youth Congress today staged protest against the BJP Government at the Centre over the rising fuel prices across the country.
Led by Uday Bhanu Chib, the Youth Congress activists assembled in front of Congress Headquarters Jammu and raised slogans against the Union Government for hiking petrol and diesel prices. They shouted slogans against BJP Government and demanded immediate rollback of the hiked prices.
While addressing the protest demonstration, Uday Chib lamented that petrol and diesel prices are being increased daily when the entire country is hit by Covid-19 pandemic, and people are in crisis due to the lockdown. He said that the Central Government is looting the people by hiking the excise duty on petrol and diesel.
“The anti-people policies of the BJP Government are responsible for the high prices of petrol, diesel and LPG despite crude oil consistently remaining down to less than 50 per cent for the last six years. International crude oil prices are the lowest in the last 15 years, yet petrol and diesel prices are skyrocketing, while the common people, the middle class, the farmers, the transporters and small and medium businesses are bearing the pain of high oil rates,” Chib rued.
Terming the hike in petrol and diesel price ‘unprecedented and historic’, Chib said that the steepest fuel price hike will have cascading effects on other essential commodities effecting people already suffering from the exhaustive policies of the NDA Government. He asserted that the Government is not at all controlling petroleum companies and common people are heavily burdened. This (hike) will further pinch the pockets of the common man who is battling inflation in view of COVID-19 crisis. If petrol, diesel prices are reduced it will help bring down inflation,” he emphasized.
Among others, who joined the protest, included Ajaz Choudhary- Vice President JKPYC, Ricky Dalotra, Shail Singh Langeh , Nimrandeep Singh, Ranjeet Chopra -Gen Secretaries JKPYC , Latish Sharma , Ashwani Singh, Barinder Partap, Jagjoot Singh, Deviyansh, Neeraj Choudhary , Rahul Tandon, Sahil , Manav Choudhary, Sunny Jatt, Happy Randhawa , Anirudha Sawhney, Goutam Chakotra , Rohit Bhagat and others.