Two Ind BDC Chairpersons join BJP

BJP Leh Unit during a function on Saturday. -Excelsior/ Morup Stanzin
BJP Leh Unit during a function on Saturday. -Excelsior/ Morup Stanzin

Excelsior Correspondent
LEH, Oct 26: Two newly elected Independent Block Development Council (BDC) chairpersons today joined BJP.
With the joining of these two BDC Rong Chairman, Jigmet Yountan and Konchok Punchok from Durbuk along with Naib Sarpanch from the area BJP got 10 BDC Chairperson out of 16.
BJP Leh organised a felicitation cum welcome ceremony at its Leh office on Saturday in honour of the eight newly elected BDC Chairpersons in Leh district who have won elections on BJP tickets.
Party leaders including CEC, LAHDC, Gyal P. Wangyal, Ex-MLC Leh Chering Dorjay, Executive Councillors, Councillors and party workers were present on the occasion.
Speaking on the occasion, President BJP Leh Dorjay Angchok informed that Konchok Phunstog from Durbuk block, who also won as an Independent candidate, will be joining BJP after he reach Leh from Durbuk.
Angchok accused Congress for spreading lies saying that Independents were their candidates. He alleged that no one from all blocks except one at Saspol was ready to file nomination on Congress tickets and the one from Saspol also lost election terribly. He hoped that other Independent BDC Chairpersons too will join BJP sooner or later as both the LAHDC Leh and the Centre Government are run by the BJP.
Dorjay Angchok claimed that BJP was the only party that thinks of Ladakh’s development and the longstanding demand of the people to separate Ladakh from Jammu & Kashmir by carving out Ladakh as a Union Territory has been fulfilled by the BJP this year.27