Traders Federation demands judicial enquiry into power crisis in Jammu

Traders during meeting at Jammu.
Traders during meeting at Jammu.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, July 5: Traders Federation Ware House-Nehru Market Jammu has demanded judicial enquiry into power crisis at a time when Jammu is reeling under intense heat of more than 40 degrees.
A meeting was held under the chairmanship of Deepak Gupta, President of the Federation, in which Deepak Gupta along with other office bearers expressed resentment over the power crisis in Jammu.
Deepak Gupta said that the Centre Government in 2018 released Rs 8,000 crore to boost the power sector in the erstwhile J&K State. Where this money went which was supposed to be used for augmentation of the power infrastructure in the coming years, he said.
“Why they failed to harness the vast Hydel power potential which the UT has despite spending thousands of crores in the name or execution of power projects”, Gupta questioned.
Gupta said the scheduled and unscheduled power cuts have paralyzed the whole life as the water supply also remains hampered due to power curtailments.
“The frequent power cuts and tripping has resulted in immense financial loss to the business establishments for which such a corrupt system is responsible. We are unable to generate e-way bills because of long power cuts but the Taxes Department imposed heavy penalties. Who is responsible for it”, he said.
Deepak Gupta appealed to Manoj Sinha, LG JK UT to personally intervene and not only bring the culprits to book but also fix accountability on the highest and the lowest levels.
Those who were present in the meeting include Munish Mahajan, Senior Vice President, Abhimanyu Gupta, Vice President, Sham Lal Langer, General Secretary, Vishal Gupta, Secretary, Amit Gupta, Cashier, Yashpal Gupta, President Retailers Federation, Rajesh Bhagotra, President Sugar Association, Kirti Gupta, President Dal Merchant Association, Ajay Gupta, President Potato Onion Association, Bishan Dass, President Rice Association, Om Parkash Gupta, President Karyana Merchant Association and GS Kohli, General Secretary Oil Association.