Three LeT operatives awarded varying jail terms in terror case

NEW DELHI: Three operatives of banned terror outfit Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT), arrested in 2012 for conspiring to carry out blasts in national capital on the instructions of their Pakistan-based handlers, were today sentenced to varying jail term of up to seven years by a court here.

Additional Sessions Judge (ASJ) Reetesh Singh sentenced LeT operatives Ahtisham Farooq Malik and Shafaqat Ali Tuggu to seven years jail each, while another convict Tawseef Ahmed Peer was awarded four-year imprisonment by the court.

The three convicts were held guilty of offences under the provisions of the Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA). Malik and Shafaqat were also held guilty for offences under the Explosive Substances Act.

Besides them, the court awarded three months jail term to Saijee Anwar who was convicted for offences punishable under the provisions of IPC only, including section 471 (using as genuine forged documents).

Later, the court suspended Anwar’s sentence and granted him bail for filing an appeal against his conviction.

They were convicted in the case lodged by the Special Cell of Delhi Police in 2012 in which it was alleged that Malik, an LeT operative, had come to Delhi to carry out terror strikes here on the instructions of his Pak-based handlers. (AGENCIES)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here