State Awards for 16 in Ladakh

Excelsior Correspondent
LADAKH, Jan 25: On the eve of Republic Day, the Administration of Union Territory of Ladakh announced State Awards to 16 distinguished persons and organizations in six different categories.
State Award in the category of Literature, Art and Craft has been announced to Tsering Gurmet of Kungyam Nyoma, Leh (Sculpture), Dr Jamyang Gyalson of CIBS, Choglamsar, Leh (Literature), Dorjay Angchuk of Skampari, Leh (Music-Surna), and Kachoo Ahmad Khan of Goma Minjee, Kargil (Theatre Artist) while Baquirya Health Care in Kargil, Bemathang has been awarded in the category of Social Reforms and Empowerment.
For the Public Service, Dr Om Parkash Chausrasia, Director DIHAR Ladakh, has been selected for the award in Gazetted category while in Non-Gazetted category, Mohd Baqir of Chanigund, Kargil (Sub-Inspector, I/c PP Minamarg, Kargil) and Tsering Namgyal of Tsaskhan, Leh (Cameraman) have been selected for the State Award.
Municipal Committee Leh and PHE Sub Division Leh have been jointly selected for the award to organization for Public Service while designated COVID-19 hospitals as well as staff working in all COVID Testing Laboratires in Leh and Kargil division have been awarded for managing Covid-19 pandemic.
In the Sports category, Rinchen Dolma of Spituk, Leh (Ice Hockey Player) and Jigmet Dolma of Igoo Leh (Athletics) have been selected for the State Award, which has been announced to Sonam Stanzin of Domkhar (Thangjuk) Khaltsi and Urgain Phuntsog of Zimskhang Gya, Leh in the category of Entrepreneurship & Progressive Farming.
Mohd Ali of Pishu, Kargil (Teacher) has been selected for the State Award in the category of Teaching and Academics.
The State Award carries cash of Rs 51 thousands, a medal and a citation.