Separate Assembly constituency, district status for Thathri demanded

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Sept 1: Thathri Development Front (TDF) has demanded separate Assembly constituency for the whole Sub-Division Thathri.
In a handout Front members R.R Manhas, K.K Rao, O.R Bhall, Kanwarjeet Singh, Layaqat Ali Sheikh, Behari Lal Bhagat, Yog Raj Sharma and Javeed Iqbal Batt appealed MoS PMO, Dr. Jatinder Singh and Delimitation Commission Member for J&K that as the Sub-Division Thathri is divided in Bhadarwah and Inderwal Constituencies and is lacking basic facilities.
“Sub-Division Thathri is most backward and undeveloped in J&K with 90 per cent population in villages,” Front members claimed adding that successive governments in J&K have neglected Thathri as till date no MLC or MLA was from the Sub-Division.
They also demand district status for Sub-Division Thathri as it now comprises of five Tehsils while all the existing districts and Assembly constituencies in J&K have hardly two or three Tehsils.
The Front members also said that Tehsil Kahara, Tehsil Thathri and Tehsil Phagsoo of Sub-Division Thathri are attached with Inderwal constituency and Tehsil Chiralla, Tehsil Bhella and four Panchyats of Kahara Tehsil of the Sub-Division are attached with Bhadarwah Constituency which is very injustice with the people of the Sub-Division.