Secularism bedrock of J&K, can’t be disturbed: Rana

NC Provincial President Devender Singh Rana addressing party workers in Jammu on Monday.
NC Provincial President Devender Singh Rana addressing party workers in Jammu on Monday.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Dec 2: National Conference Provincial President Devender Singh Rana today described secularism as bedrock of Jammu and Kashmir’s glorious existence, saying this spirit has to be nurtured and sustained for harmonious growth of the people.
“History is replete with instances how J&K withstood test of times during most testing turbulent times and despite gravest provocative”, Rana said while addressing party functionaries and workers at Sher-e-Kashmir Bhavan here this morning, adding that the essence of secular ethos might have come under severe strain at times but ultimately the people’s will to protect it triumphed.
He said if the ray of secularism from J&K generated a ray of hope during horrendous times decades ago there is no reason why the challenges of now can’t be met now. He exhorted the cadre to renew their pledge of strengthening cherished philosophy of secularism that guided the destiny of the people in this part of the country under the banner of National Conference over the decades.
He also exhorted the cadre to assert their designated role in strengthening the bonds of harmony, amity and brotherhood, bequeathed by towering leaders like Sher-e-Kashmir Sheikh Mohammed Abdullah, who rejected myopic political philosophy during the most difficult phase of the history. This is the legacy the people of Jammu and Kashmir are proud to inherit, he added.
Referring to prevailing political scenario, the Provincial President stressed the need for reaching out to the people to end the alienation and assuage their aspirations. For this, conducive political atmosphere is needed to be generated to create adequate space for democratc activities, he said, hoping that this imperative will get priority.
Those present in the meeting included Surjeet Singh Salathia, Rattan Lal Gupta, Sheikh Bashir Ahmed, Th. Kashmira Singh, Sajjad Ahmed Kichloo, Babu Rampaul, Dr. Chaman Lal Bhagat, Qazi Jalal Ud Din, Bimla Luthra, Satwant Kour Dogra, Bashir Ahmed Wani, Anil Dhar, Gurdeep Singh Sasan, Ch. Haroon, Mohinder Singh, Vijay Lochan, Abdul Gani Teli , Chander Mohan Sharma, Pardeep Bali, Master Noor Hussain Rita Gupta, Dilshad Malik, S.S Bunty, Dharamveer Singh Jamwal, Dr. Gagan Bhagat, Mohinder Gupta, Rajesh Bakashi, Nar Singh, Som Nath Khajuria, Ch. Rehmat Ali, Sheikh Mohd Shafi, Muzaffar Khan, Ashok Singh Manhas, Sardar Sucha Singh, S. Balwinder Singh, Rashida Begum, Iktkhair Choudhary, Tarsem Khullar, Ashok Dogra, Som Raj Taroch, Madan Lal, Aman Cheema, Shabir Sambyal, Farooq Mughal, Reyaz Ahmed, S. Sandeep Singh, Jatin Bhat, Rinku Arora, Arvind Singh Jamwal, Adan Bhatt, Mushtarat Malik, Madan Lal and others.