Sagheer CSC gets 7th extension

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 11: The Government today granted another extension to Cabinet Sub Committee (CSC) on Working Group of Justice Sagheer Ahmad (now dead) report till April 30, 2013.
This was seventh extension to the CSC headed by Finance Minister Abdul Rahim Rather, granted by the Government. Sixth extension of the CSC had expired on September 30, 2012.
The CSC comprised Finance Minister Abdul Rahim Rather (chairman), Law & Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ali Mohammad Sagar, Industries and Commerce Minister Surjit Singh Slathia and Transport & CAPD Minister Qamar Ali Akhoon, all from National Conference, Revenue, Relief and Rehabilitation Minister Raman Bhalla, Tourism Minister Rigjin Jora, Health Minister Sham Lal Sharma and PHE, Irrigation and Flood Control Minister Taj Mohi-ud-Din, all from Congress.
The Congress was opposing the demand for autonomy while the National Conference was a strong supporter of it. Justice Sagheer Ahmad had recommended autonomy for the State.
Sources said in view of divergent stand taken by the two coalition partners, the CSC hadn’t been able to evolve consensus on recommendations of the Committee.
With seventh extension, the CSC was expected to meet shortly to deliberate on the issues before it.