Reddy, Singh take dig at China, condemn statement

Union MoS Home G K Reddy (left) and BJP general secretary Arun Singh (right) talking to media persons at Leh on Wednesday. -Excelsior/Morup Stanzin
Union MoS Home G K Reddy (left) and BJP general secretary Arun Singh (right) talking to media persons at Leh on Wednesday. -Excelsior/Morup Stanzin

BJP, Cong, AAP release lists

Avtar Bhat
JAMMU, Sept 30: Taking strong exception to the statement of Chinese Foreign Minister over Ladakh, Union Minister of State for Home, G K Reddy and BJP national general secretary, Arun Singh today asked the China not to interfere in the internal affairs of India.
Talking to media persons separately here today, they alleged that with such statements, China was trying to instigate the people of Ladakh and vitiate the atmosphere which will neither be tolerated by the people of Ladakh nor by India.

Click here to watch video
The duo, who were camping in Ladakh for last three days as the emissaries of Union Government and the party to convey the decision of Central Government to people of Ladakh on their demands and finalise the list of candidates for the Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC) Leh elections which are to be held on October 16, took China to task for its undue interference in the internal affairs of India.
Terming the statement of Chinese Foreign Minister in this regard totally illogical and wrong, Reddy said Ladakh is internal issue of India and this is the open interference in the internal affairs of the country by China which will not be tolerated at any cost.
Reddy said on behalf of the people of India, he strongly condemns the statement of Chinese Minister and also asked the people of Ladakh region to condemn the statement in strongest terms.
Asking people to unite against the Chinese hostile approach, the Union Minister said that the people should show solidarity with Prime Minister, Narendra Modi. “This is the matter of honour and dignity of Ladakh and granting of UT status reflected their aspirations and they will not tolerate any foreign interference in their affairs”, he added.
The Ladakh region got UT status after decades and under the leadership of Narendra Modi the region is on the path of progress, he said and termed it a wrong statement to mislead the people of the region.
Reddy said India does not need Chinese recognition for granting the status of UT to Ladakh . “We have given it the status of UT and we recognize it as UT”. He asked the people of Ladakh not to be afraid of Chinese Minister’s statement as entire 130 crore people of India are solidly with Ladakhis.
He said the UT status was granted to Ladakh after passage of a Bill by Union Parliament and under the new mechanism Ladakh will tread on the path of progress and development. He asked the people of the region to get united and strengthen the democratic set up and hands of Modi.
BJP general secretary, Arun Singh while condemning the Chinese Minister’s statement said it will not be tolerated at any cost. “China is trying to instigate people of Ladakh which is intolerable”, he added.
Making a scathing attack on China, he said it is not solving its own problems as it has not good relations with its immediate neighbors and its interference in internal affairs of India will neither be tolerated by country nor the people of this region.
Meanwhile, BJP released the list of remaining eight candidates for LAHDC elections while Congress released the list of 21 candidates out of 26 seats and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) released the list of eight candidates today at Leh. With the release of the list of these eight candidates, BJP has announced the names for all the 26 constituencies of LAHDC, Leh.
While the BJP candidates list was released by its UT president and MP Ladakh Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, the list of Congress was released by president Ladakh Territorial Congress and former Minster Nawang Rigzin Jora and list of AAP was released by its convenor for UT of Ladakh, Tsering Punchok.
The eight BJP candidates included Ghulam Mehdi for Turtuk, Ven Konchok Tsepel for Chushul, Urgain Chodon for Nyoma, Stanzin Chospel for Thiksay, Mirza Hussain for Chuchot, Rinchen Lhamo for Upper Leh, Tsering Namgyal for Saspol and Dr Morup Dorjey for Lamayuru.
The list of Congress candidates included Namgyal Dorjay for Tangtse constituency, Sonam Tsering for Chushul, Thupten Wngchuk for Nyoma, Skarma Zotpa for Kungyam, Gurmet Dorjey for Korzok, Rigzin Tsering for Sakti, Sonam Thardos for Igoo, Eshay Tsering for Martselang, Tundup Gyatso for Thiksay, Ghulam Sayedin for Chushot, Kunchok Norboo for Lingshet, Tsering Namgyal for Lower Leh, Phuntsog Stanzin Tsepag for Upper Leh, Padma Namgyal for Sku Markha, Smanla Dorjay Nurboo for Saspol, Sonam Dorjey for Temisgam, Jigmet Rabgias for Khaltsi, Lundup Dorjai for Skurbuchan, Dorjay Gyaltsen for Lamayuru, Tundup Nurbu for Phyang and Mohd Issa for Turtuk.
The AAP candidates for eight constituencies included Tsewang Stobdan for Khaltsi constituency, Urgyan Phuntsog for Sakti, Skarma Jigmet for Kyungam, Dr Tsering Norphel for Thiksey, Rigzin Dolma for Martselang, Noor ud-Din for Phyang, Dorje Angchuk for Skyurbuchan and Stanzin Ostal for Igoo.
Meanwhile, Sayeeda Ladakhi has resigned from the primary membership of BJP today. In her resignation letter to party UT president, Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, she said that it is becoming difficult for her to stay with the current functioning of the party and the direction in which it is going. She said she does not feel it is the same idealistic party created by former Prime Minster, Atal Bihari Vajpayee, PM Narendra Modi and others whose sole concern was women empowerment. But the leaders are now concerned with their personnel agendas hence she is quitting the party.