R N Bazar, Purani Mandi be given heritage status: Priya

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, June 6: Former Minister and MLA Priya Sethi today said main stretch of market from Raghunath Chowk to City Chowk and right up to Purani Mandi where Ram Mandir is located should be declared as Heritage Bazar. Since this stretch has maximum old buildings, temples and schools besides private homes whose architecture is worth preserving the entire stretch needs to be developed as heritage market, she added.
Appreciating Chief Minister, Mehbooba Mufti for releasing additional funds for development of Raghunath Bazar, Priya Sethi appealed her that all other connecting bazars also need similar touch so that their aesthetics is maintained. There are homes and temples on this stretch whose architecture resembles that of Mubarak Mandi and Sheesh Mahal. This is why the entire stretch should be declared as historic.
She added that during the era of erstwhile Maharaja, the King of Jammu used to tread this path on elephants and horses right up to Mubarak Mandi and that makes it a perfect place to be declared as Heritage Bazar. Priya Sethi was speaking to representatives of all bazaars after inspecting preparedness for installation of statue of Raja Jambulochan at Purani Mandi.
The representatives of all Bazars including Purani Mandi Association, City Chowk Association, Raj Tilak Road Association, Old Hospital Road Association, residents of Old City and others demanded that entire stretch should be declared as heritage and developed accordingly. They sought installation of ornamental lights, footpaths, artistically crafted signage and music system for all bazars to give them a facelift that could go along heritage buildings and temples located in the area.
Executive Engineer, Arun Gupta, AEE JMC Ashok Sharma, AEE JMC Anil Gupta and other  officials of the department were present.
Among others present included Sudhir Anand, Anil Masoom, Ramesh Gupta, Kartar Gupta, Ravi Thakur, Shiv Sharma, Pardeep Baru, Dawarka Gupta, Tarlochan Datt, Harbhans Singh, Nipun Malhotra, Savita Anand, Saroj Gupta, Sharda Devi, Darshna Sharma, Manju and Billla.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here