Punjab: 9 new Cabinet ministers sworn-in, 2 women MoSes elevated

CHANDIGARH: Nine new Cabinet ministers were sworn-in at the Raj Bhavan here today, in the first expansion of over a year-old Amarinder Singh-led Congress Government.
Ministers of State Aruna Chaudhary and Razia Sultana were also elevated as Cabinet ministers.

Punjab Governor V P Singh Badnore administered the oath of office to the new ministers.
Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, his cabinet colleagues and other senior party leaders, including Asha Kumari and Harish Chaudahry, were present during the swearing-in ceremony.

Five-time MLA from Amritsar Central O P Soni was the first one among the ministers to be sworn-in. Besides Soni, Rana Gurmit Sodhi (four-time MLA from Guru Har Sahai), Sukhjinder Randhawa (MLA from Dera Baba Nanak), Gurpreet Kangar (from Rampura Phul), Sukhbinder Sarkaria (from Raja Sansi in Amritsar), Balbir Sidhu (from Mohali), all three-time legislators, were also sworn-in.
Youth leader and Sangrur MLA Vijay Inder Singla, two-time MLA Sunder Sham Arora from Hoshiarpur and two time MLA from Ludhiana West Bharat Bhushan Ashu and too were administered oath. (AGENCIES)