PSA highlights grievances, demands

PSA office bearers during a meeting at Jammu on Friday.
PSA office bearers during a meeting at Jammu on Friday.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, June 25: To discuss the teething problems of private schools functioning in rural areas of Jammu district, a meeting of the Private Schools Association was organized by Lal Chand Gandotra under the chairmanship of Kamal Gupta in the premises of Oriental High School, Malpur, Jammu.
Members from different rural areas highlighted their problems before the Central Executive Body of JKPSA. They said that the schools recognized by the Government of Jammu Kashmir and functioning in the rural areas are the worse sufferer as most of the parents are reluctant to pay even monthly fee. In such circumstances small school owners are hapless to pay emoluments to their employees who are solely dependent on private schools, they added.
Members also expressed their dismay over the weak strategies of the Government by virtue of which mushrooming growth of unrecognized schools has perpetuated in the Union Territory.
General Secretary of JKPSA, Ajay Gupta briefed the members that to curb the menace of unrecognized schools, Director School Education, Jammu vide letter number DSEJ/19642-52 dated 21.06.2021 has directed all Chief Education Officers of Jammu Division to initiate appropriate action under rules against illegal schools which are operating without recognition/ affiliation after verifying all documents as per SRO 123 & 292. He urged to the DSE Jammu to maintain the sanctity of the order to weed out the illegal private schools and upload the status of all private schools on the official website of department along with their geolocation.
President of the Association, Kamal Gupta appealed to the Lt Governor of JK UT for a monthly package to all those who are solely dependent on private schools in view of distress caused due to the closure of schools. He also demanded extension in validity of all recognized schools whose files have been submitted for the extension in recognition/ affiliation after completing all required formalities.
During the meeting, PSA members unanimously elected Sat Pal Khajuria , Raj Kumar Sharma , Deep Dayal, Bodh Raj, Kamal Sharma, Naresh Verma and Chetan Kumar as President , Vice President, General Secretary, Treasurer, Joint Secretary , Organizer and member of Zone Bhalwal, respectively.
Those who attended the meeting, included B D Raina, Subash Singh, Ajay Singh, Raj Kumar Sharma, Paramjeet Singh, Anil Sharma, B D Verma, Manik Kesar, Rajinder Kumar, Sham Ved, Vijay Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Tarsem Sharma and Ashok Sharma.