Polytechnic faculty members meet Director Technical Education, submit demands

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 23: J&K Govt Polytechnic faculty members today called on Director Technical Education, Sajad Hussain Ganie and apprised him about the present situation of the department, particularly Polytechnic sector admission/Academic process.
The faculty members also submitted the pending charter of demands in order to improve the standard of polytechnic sector. They demanded implementation of AICTE norms and Pay scales. The Institutes are run by partial AICTE norms while the Institutes and Polytechnic sector at large are in dire need for being run by AICTE norms in letter and spirit, they said.
The faculty also demanded confirmation of In-charge Lecturers, Head of Departments, Training and Placement Officers and Principals through UT Administrative Council or J&K PSC. The process of confirmation of faculty members at various echelons must be done at a faster pace as the cases of confirmation are lying pending vide file no DTE/poly/101/G-117/V/2482 dated 11/12/2018 and Edu/Tech/Poly/84/2018 dated 19.12.2018 with Administrative Department since long period,” they said and also demanded Educational Policy for the faculty to pursue Higher education.
The faculty also demanded strengthening the MoU between IIT Jammu and Directorate of Technical Education, in order to facilitate academic, industrial and research exchange with a premier institute like IIT Jammu, effective implementation of Examination schedule for timely completion of semesters and earned leaves for the faculty members.
The Director listened to the demands with patience and discussed the same with Joint Director Mohd Shafi Bhat. He assured the delegation that all their all demands would be considered on priority.
The faculty members, who meet with Director Technical Education, included K S Bhatia, Zia Ul Haq Kohli, Sanjay Gupta, Pawan Kumar, Shoket Ali, Ajay Thapa, Dheeraj Angral, Jasdeep Kour, Heena Gupta, Hamid Malik, Sanam Gupta, Dr Deepak Gupta, Shabir Ahmed, Sukhdeep Singh and others.