Mutup is new CEC Leh

DC Leh Avny Lavasa handing over appointment letter to Dorjey Mutup in Leh on Monday. -Excelsior/Morup Stanzin
DC Leh Avny Lavasa handing over appointment letter to Dorjey Mutup in Leh on Monday. -Excelsior/Morup Stanzin

Excelsior Correspondent
LEH, Feb 19:  Dorjey Mutup, Councilor Kyungam Constituency was today elected uncontested/unopposed the 7th Chief Executive Councilor of 5th Hill Council, Leh.
The post of CEC, LAHDC fell vacant on January 30 after the sudden demise of Dr Sonam Dawa Lonpo.
Councilor Sakti Gyal P. Wangyal proposed the name of Dorjey Mutup for the post of Chairman/ CEC seconded by Councilor Tingmosgang Tsering Morup and in absence of any second nomination DC, Leh/ CEO, LAHDC Avny Lavasa, who was also the Election Authority, declared Dorjey Mutup as unanimously elected for the post of Chairman/ CEC, LAHDC Leh in Assembly Hall, Council Secretariat today.
The election session commenced with two minutes silence to mourn the irreparable loss of Dr. Sonam Dawa followed by an obituary note by Jamyang Tsering Namgial and opposition leader Gurmet Dorjey as tribute to previous CEC, LAHDC.
The election session was attended by Minister Ladakh Affairs & Cooperatives Chhering Dorjey, all the elected Councilors of Hill Council and other dignitaries including Avinash Rai Khanna, BJP national vice president, Sat Paul Sharma (MLA) BJP state president, Ashok Kaul BJP organising secretary and Pawan Khajuria, BJP State general secretary.
In his speech after taking over the seat of CEC, LAHDC, Dorjey Mutup committed to achieve the goals taking together all parties for common good and welfare of people of Leh district.
Stressing on the phrase, ‘equality is the quality of Hill Council’, Mutup said that his endeavour would be to ensure equal development in all sectors, regions and communities with quality work. He said that he would give his best in following the footsteps of Dr. Sonam Dawa Lonpo who has worked hard to achieve progress in every field ensuring good support from State and Centre Governments.
In pursuance of the power vested in him, Dorjey Mutup nominated Tsering Wangdus- Councilor Saspol, Gyal P Wangyal- Councilor Sakti, Tsering Sandup- Councilor Panamik and Mumtaz Hussain- Councilor Chuchot as the Executive Councilors of his office with portfolios.