Monitor pollution standards near sites of projects: Assembly Panel

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Nov 12: The Committee on Environment of Legislative Assembly held its meeting today.
Headed by its Chairman, M. Y. Tarigami, the committee took cognizance of a representation filed before it by Centre of Indian Trade Union (CITU).
Mohammad Sharief Niaz, Nasir Aslam Wani, Rafi Ahmad Mir, A. R. Veeri, Yash Paul Sharma. Mohammad Khalil Bandh, Dr. Shafi Ahmad Wani, Durga Dass and Prof. Guru Ram Bhagat attended the meeting.
Threadbare discussion was also held on muck disposal sites on the National Highway, implementation of labour laws in letter and spirit, dumping sites, effluent discharge from the STPs, water quality of Mara and Champari Nallas being affected due to flowing of untreated discharge of tunneling activities and noise level measured near the tunnel constructing sites beyond permissible limits for bringing further improvement and containing the   environmental pollution in the area.
The Committee directed constituting of Committees headed by respective District Development Commissioners, representatives from Pollution Control Board, Department of Environment, Project Director National Highway Authority and other executing agencies for identifying the dumping sites on National Highway and to inform the Environment Committee about the progress.
The Committee recommended that the User Agencies should comply with the Environmental (Protection) Act, 1986 along with the Rules and Protocols, respect the human dignity principles under the relevant provisions of Labour Act and related Labour welfare legislations. It also recommended that the Pollution Control Board should closely monitor the pollution standards near the sites and also provide expert opinion to the user agency besides ensuring compliance of various Acts.
The meeting was attended by Labour Commissioner, Nirmal Sharma, District Development Commissioner, Udhampur, Yasha Mudgal, Principal Chief Conservator of Forests, A.K. Singh, Director Environment, Suresh Chug and other officers of Revenue, PCB, Environment & Remote Sensing, Wild Life, Labour and Employment and Assembly Secretariat.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here