Migrants continue hunger strike, take out rally

Members of JTC and SKF taking out rally.
Members of JTC and SKF taking out rally.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Oct 25: Demanding increase in cash relief and redressal of other demands, Jagti Tenement Committee (JTC) and Soan Kashmir Front (SKF) continued hunger strike and also took out a rally, in which hundreds of members of JTC and SKF took part.
While speaking, President JTC, SKF and Convener PCC Migrant Cell Shadi Lal Pandita said that they took out rally to project their demand of increase in cash relief from Rs 13,000 to Rs 25,000 per migrant family per month.
He said that Government is treating them step motherly, adding that the Government is oppressing their community and a conspiracy is being hatched to wipe of their community. “We will continue our agitation till our demands are not redressed”, he asserted.
“Government jobs should be given to those families where there is no Government employee in the family and ration should be provided to those pensioners whose pensions are very low”, he demanded.
Raj Kumar Tickoo Unit President JTC and Convener of SKF said that Government should address their persistent demands which are 20,000 jobs for unemployed youth of KPs, out of which 5,000 class VI should be given to the unemployed youth of those families who could not send their children for higher education after matriculation due to poverty, provide compensation and free loans to over aged youth, rehabilitate KPs in Kashmir valley by building satellite townships near Baramulla, Srinagar and Anantnag with political and minority status, each and every landlord should be given 30 years property loss, migrant youth of camps and non camps should be given jobs in Police Department and payment of remaining balance of the gutted houses.
Other present were Kashi Nath Bhat, Inder Ji Labroo, Rakesh Ambardar, SL Kar, Sunil Bhan, Sunil Koul, Sager Pandita, Shuban Raina, CL Koul, Charan Jeet Singh, Gurmeet Singh, Gowri Shanker, Gokal Nath Bhat, Jitander Raina, Mohan Krishan Tickoo, Vinod Moza, Kamal Ji Pandita, Sanjay Raina, Ajay Kachroo, Bihari Lal Razdan, etc.