Mattoo interacts with KPs, prays for reversal of migration

Prominent KPs and leaders of other organisations from Jammu with SMC Mayor, Junaid Mattoo on Friday.
Prominent KPs and leaders of other organisations from Jammu with SMC Mayor, Junaid Mattoo on Friday.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Feb 21: The Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Srinagar Municipal Corporation today interacted with a group of prominent KPs at Karan Nagar here on various issues related to them.
The Mayor Junaid Mattoo and Deputy Mayor prayed that may Lord Shiva bestow his blessings to reverse their migration so that once again celebration of this great festival resonates in Valley with traditional gaiety ,zeal and zest like the good golden days of past where synthesis of cultures, harmony and sofism thrived and existed for centuries.
They assured that they will leave no stone unturned in resolving all issues of KPs which fall under their official jurisdiction.
Vishwa Kashmiri Samaj (VKS) president, Kiran Wattal assured full cooperation to visiting dignitaries regarding restoration of temples shrines and encroachments around them. He also emphasized for frequent interactions among various communities in Kashmir valley in order to facilitate smooth return and rehabilitation of displaced people on their own terms and conditions.
While reacting the point raised by Kiran Wattal ,Junaid Matto said it is the responsibility of the majority community to extend all help, support and cooperation in dignified return and rehabilitation of KPs and he also acknowledged that exodus of KPs was a tragic chapter in the history of Kashmir.
Pintoo Ji general secretary of VKS while welcoming this initiative expressed hope that these types of exchanges of thoughts and interactions will continue till the process is brought to its logical conclusion.
Those who participated in the interaction included Dy Mayor, Jammu Purnima Sharma, Rajesh Gupta president VHP, Raman Supriya ex member BJP, M K Yogi, Bal Kristen Bhat Ajay Bhat, M K Bangroo, Mahant Rajesh Bittu, Kuldip Luthra president Jai Hind Manch, Tapan Dubey and others.