LIC employees stage protest

LIC employees during a protest demonstration at Jammu on Wednesday.
LIC employees during a protest demonstration at Jammu on Wednesday.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Nov 25: As per the call of All India Insurance Employees’ Association, LIC employees here today staged protest demonstrations in front of LIC offices of J&K.
The protests were held under the banner of Northern Zone Insurance Employees’ Association (NZIEA) Srinagar Division and in Jammu region the protest was led by Pawan Gupta, Divisional Secretary NZIEA Srinagar Division while in Kashmir same was done by A.M Tantray, Divisional President and Ajaz Ahmad Dar, Joint Secretary of the Association.
Addressing protesters, Pawan Gupta flayed the NDA Government for its alleged anti-people, anti-farmers and anti-workers policies.
He claimed that due to wrong policies of the Government LIC employees are observing a one day strike on November 26, 2020.
Gupta condemned the agenda of NDA Government for privatizing all the public sector enterprises.
“Important sectors of economy like financial sector, ports, mines, space, defense etc are being opened fully for exploitation by private players. The Government has already taken measures to privatize public sector general insurance industry by divesting its shareholding in GIC-Re and New India,” he maintained expressing resentment against the decision of the Government to list LIC in stock exchange.
The Association leader favoured withdrawal of NPS and demanded increase in family pension, updation of pension and old age pension scheme for all.
Among his other demands was settlement of long pending wage revision of LIC/GIC employees as per their aspirations and paying capacity of the institution.
Gupta also demanded withdrawal of amended labour laws and agriculture legislations and appealed all to participate in the strike to make it a success.
Romesh Chand, NZIEA Joint Secretary; Dinesh Kumar Sharma, Vice President; Raj Kumar Sharma, Treasurer; Neelam Sharma, Women Convener and Kishore Lal, Rajesh Kumar, Raj Kumar, Alkiya Sharma, Priya Sharma and Ruchi Jamwal also spoke on the occasion. The protest was led by Rajesh Gupta at Jammu-1, Sham Sunder and R.P Singh at Jammu-2, Vijay Verma at Kathua, Kuldeep Singh at Samba, Rajesh Sapolia at R.S Pura, Moti Ram and Sham Singh at Udhampur, Ram Raj at Doda, Raj Kumar at Poonch and Khaliq Hussain and Vinod Sharma at Rajouri.