LF, NPF, Cong retain power

The Left Front stormed back to power in Tripura and the Naga People’s Front (NPF)in Nagaland, while the Congress, which fared poorly in both states, emerged as the single largest party in Meghalaya with two seats short of absolute majority in the assembly election results declared today.
The three outgoing Chief Ministers of Tripura, Nagaland and Meghalaya, Manik Sarkar, Neiphu Rio and Mukul Sangma respectively were victorious.
The Left Front, which has won for the fifth consecutive term in Tripura, secured a three fourths majority with 50 of the 60 seats, with major partner CPI(M) itself securing 49.
In Nagaland, NPF swept back to power for the third consecutive time winning absolute majority securing 38 of the 59 seats. Election in one seat was countermanded following the death of a candidate.
Congress could win only 10 of the 48 seats it contested in Tripura while it could manage to win only eight seats compared to the 18 it clinched last time in Nagaland.
In Meghalaya, the Congress bagged 29 of the 60 seats, falling two short of an absolute majority.
But the Congress improved its tally by securing four more than its tally in 2008.
The results were a shot in the arm of Congress Chief Minister Mukul Sangma who faced stiff opposition from old warhorse P A Sangma whose National People’s Party managed to win just two seats.
In Tripura, the Left Front increased its tally from 49 seats in 2008 and 42 seats in 2003 paving the way for the installation of the seventh Left Front Government since 1967.
Congress allies INPT and National Conference of Tripura, which had virtually revolted over allocation of seats before being pacified, drew a blank.
Other prominent LF winners were Agriculture Minister Aghore Debbarma from Asharambari constituency, Industries Minister Jitendra Chowdhury from Manu, and Jail Minister Manindra Reang from Shantirbazar (ST).
Among Congress winners were Leader of the Opposition Ratan Lal Nath from Mohanpur and TPCC President Sudip Roy Burman from Agartala.
Prominent losers were INPT President Bijoy Hrankhawl from Ambassa and former TPCC president Surajit Dutta from Ramnagar.
In Nagaland, NPF allies JD(U) and BJP won a seat each.
In Meghalaya, the NCP won four seats, while RJD failed to open its account. Independents won in 7 seats.
The United Democratic Party, key ally of the Congress for the past three years of the United Alliance coalition Government, could retain only eight of the 11 seats it won in 2008.
Hill State Peoples’ Democratic Party president Hopingstone Lyngdoh emerged with a clean slate for the eighth consecutive term to the Assembly from Nongstoin constituency in West Khasi Hills district.
His party colleague Ardent Basaiawmoit retained his Nongkrem seat in East Khasi Hills district and the party’s position improved by a whopping 50 per cent. The party had won only two seats in 2008.
Thirteen Independent candidates also won, some of whom were already camping with the Congress. (PTI)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here