Jammu Municipal limits increased

Excelsior Correspondent
SRINAGAR, June 12: The Municipal limits of the Jammu city have been increased with the inclusion of several areas belonging to different constituencies with the aim of accelerating their pace of development and also providing the modern housing and urban facilities to these areas.
The step has been taken with the active intervention of the Minister for Housing and Urban Development Sat Sharma who was keen to ensure that the developmental initiatives in housing and urban sector should also include various new areas which are in the catchment of the Jammu city and are touching its Municipal limits.
The areas which have been included are Deeli, Bhour, Gadigarh in Digiana Niabat, Rangoora, Dhawara, Majeen in Sidhra Niabat, Chakrattnoo, Chakjhalloo, Kaluchak, Sunjwan and Chowadhi in Bahoo Niabat.
Similarly, in Muthi Niabat Dharmal, Muthi, Rakna-Nagbani, Akalpur, Sangrampur, Chalkpatyal, Gangwal, Thekrik Khanie, Panyal, Pattoli, Berhmna, Machallya, Shahzadpur Bubba Ganiya, Chalkdurgoo, Thathar, Barnale, Gajsalpura and Gurha Brahamana have also been added.
In Gole Niabat Chakpouni Wand, Waziran, Chakpouni Wand Brahmana, Sehora, Chak Gulami, Trilokpur, Kharian and Chak Sardar Atta Singh have been included in the new initiative of extending the Municipal limits of the Jammu city.
The Minister said that the initiative, which was long pending demand of the people living in these areas would ensure the extension of new initiatives being taken in the housing and urban development sector to accelerate the sustained development of these by providing them with the modern living and urban facilities at par with the other more developed areas of the State and the country as well.
He said that ever since the present Government has come into existence it has been its endeavour to give a fillip to the developmental programmes which would further result in the socio economic transformation of these areas and the state as a whole.