Grand religious function at Chand Nagar Gurudwara on May 25

Chairman, SGPB T S Wazir addressing press conference in Jammu on Wednesday. — Excelsior/ Rakesh
Chairman, SGPB T S Wazir addressing press conference in Jammu on Wednesday. — Excelsior/ Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, May 22: A grand religious function is being organized to commemorate 550th birth anniversary of Shri Guru Nanak Dev Ji at Gurudwara Shri Nanak Dev Ji, Chand Nagar, Lower Gumat in Jammu on May 25.
Talking to media-persons here today, Chairman State Gurudwara Parbandhak Board, TS Wazir disclosed that grand `Gurmat Samagam’ is being organized by Guru Nanak Sewa Charitable Trust and Guru Nanak International Kirtan Council under the patronage of Mahant Manjit Singh of dera Nangali Sahib ( Poonch), with the support of District Gurudwara Parbandhak Committee (DGPC) Jammu for celebrating birth anniversary of Guru Nanak Dev Ji in Jammu. The function will project the path shown by this great Guru for the world peace and service to humanity.
Wazir said during this day long programme at Chand Nagar Gurudwara various prominent and intellectual Sikh personalities including `Parcharaks’ and `Kirtan Jathas’ will take part. The function will start at 9 am in the morning on May 25, 2019 and will conclude at around 1 am midnight. The final results of “Kaun Banega Gurusikh Pyara Contest” will also be announced. He appealed the Sikh community members to participate in this grand event in large number.
SGPB chairman, further disclosed that 53 toppers among 70000 participants across the country will be the special attractions in the Samagam. Topper of each group will get cars and 2nd and 3rd number students will get cash prizes. This programme will be fully supported by Shiromani Gurudwara Parbandhak Committee (SGPC) Amritsar, State Gurudwara Parbandhak Board, DGGC Jammu and all Sikh Naujawan Sabhas.
Wazir was flanked by Bhai Jagtar Singh Mukh Sewadar Guru Nanak Kirtan Council, Manjit Singh convenor Guru Nanak Sewa Charitable Trust, Davinder Singh president of the Trust, Harmeet Singh, Ajit Singh, Jagjit Singh (president DGPC) Fateh Singh (DGPC gen secy), Ramneek Singh, Harjinder Singh Raina and others.