Govt to set up 18 new missions in Africa by 2021

NEW DELHI: The Union Cabinet today approved the opening of 18 new Indian missions in Africa with an aim to expand India’s footprints in the resource-rich continent where China has been trying to increase its presence.

The new Indian missions will be set up over four years, from 2018 to 2021, the Government said in a statement.

It said the new Indian missions will be opened in Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mauritania, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Swaziland and Togo.

Currently, India has 29 resident missions in Africa.

“The decision will enhance India’s diplomatic outreach in the African continent and allow India to engage with Indian diaspora in African countries,” the Government said. (AGENCIES)