First batch of Buda Amarnath pilgrims to leave on July 29

BD leaders at a press conference at Jammu on Wednesday. — Excelsior/Rakesh
BD leaders at a press conference at Jammu on Wednesday. — Excelsior/Rakesh

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, July 27: The first batch of Buda Amarnath Yatra will leave the Bhagwati Nagar Yatri Niwas here on July 29. This was stated by Bajrang Dal (BD) national convener, Neeraj Dhanoria while talking to reporters here, today.
He said on July 28 inaugural function of the Buda Amarnath Yatra will be held at Bhagwati Nagar Yatri Niwas. He said the last batch and Chhari Mubarak (Holy Mace) of Buda Amarnath Ji will leave from here on August 7.
He said in this year’s yatra itinerary the historical and religious places from Jammu to Poonch have been included and pilgrims will visit every place during the yatra and the Yatris will return to Jammu via Shiv Khori, he added.
Neeraj Dhanoria said in 1996 the militants had threatened the holy Amarnath yatra and accepting the challenge over 50,000 Bajrang Dal activists all over the country came for the yatra that year and made it a complete success. He said due to terrorist attacks and threats the Hindus had migrated from various far-flung areas of twin districts of Rajouri and Poonch but with the commencement of Buda Amarnath yatra the migration of Hindus had stopped from these areas.
He said the Hindu Samaj returned to their habitations and the acts of militancy also decreased to a great extent and this yatra has given a moral boost to the minorities living in that belt. He said this yatra was started by BD in 2005 from all over the country which is running it without any break for last 13 years now and thousands of people across the country are participating in this yatra.
The J&K UT convener of BD, Kartik Soodan said thousands of people from J&K will join this yatra this year. He said Vishaw Hindu Parishad, (VHP), BD and administration has made arrangements for yatris stay at 12 places enroute.
Yatra head and Gujarat State convener, Bhavesh Bhai Thakkar, Yatra vice president and Rajasthan State convener, Kishan Prajapat, Patna region convener, Janmijai Kumar, Bengal and Assam convener, Amal Chakarborthy, Bhopal convener, Rao Kumar Udhay Pratap Singh were also present in the press conference.