FDP on MOOCs & E-Learning Technologies concludes at JU

Prof Rajni Kant & others presenting certificates of participation during valedictory of FDP at JU on Tuesday.
Prof Rajni Kant & others presenting certificates of participation during valedictory of FDP at JU on Tuesday.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Dec 6: One week Faculty Development Program on MOOCs and E- Learning Technologies, in association with the National Institute of Educational Planning and Administration (NIEPA), New Delhi, concluded today at the Department of CS & IT, University of Jammu.
Prof Rajni Kant, Dean Research Studies and Dean, Faculty of Science, JU, was chief guest on the occasion. While addressing the participants of FDP, he appreciated efforts of the Department in organizing the programme on such an important theme. He further emphasized that participation in such programmes not only enhances the profile but also enriches the knowledge about the latest techniques and technologies.
Prof Pawanesh Abrol, Head of the Department and Convener of the FDP, apprised about the need of this programme and emphasized the online content generation and adoption using the latest learning management systems. He reiterated that in the fast-growing knowledge economy of the country, it is essential to develop competencies for blended teaching & learning and designing of Massive Open Online Courses (MOOC) by the faculty across different disciplines using the latest tools and platforms.
Prof Abrol further stated that this FDP focuses on e-content development in Higher education learning that serves as one of the main objectives of the new National Education Policy 2020 (NEP).
Prof J N Baliya, Head, Department of Educational Studies, Central University, Jammu, Dr Srinivas, Head, ICT & Project Management Unit, NIEPA, New Delhi, Dr Ashok Sharma, Bhaderwah Campus were among the prominent resource persons who interacted with the participants during one week FDP on various topics like learning analytics, machine learning based models, Moodle cloud, interactive video tools etc.
Jasbir Singh, Organizing Secretary, presented a detailed report regarding the conduct of FDP. Prof Lalit Sen Sharma presented formal vote of thanks while Palak Mahajan conducted proceedings of the valedictory session. Prof Vinod Sharma, Dr Suresh Rao, other faculty members, research scholars besides a large number of participants were present on the occasion.