Daughters of Vitasta, VDPC organize Vitasta Divas

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU/ANANTNAG, Sept 22: Daughters of Panun Kashmir organised the Vitasta Divas function on the bank of Ranveer Canal with traditional gaiety and fervour, while the Vitasta Devsathan Prabandak Committee (VDPC) Verinag celebrated the birthday of Maa Vitasta at its original place Veth-Vatru Verinag today.
Vitasta Divas is observed every year to celebrate the birthday of Vitasta River that is river Jhelum, whom Kashmiri Pandits worship as a goddess.
At Jammu, the programme was organised under the chairmanship of the Chairman Political Affairs Committee Virender Raina. Senior Vice President, JL Koul and Shiben Kishen Bhatt enumerated the significance of observing the Vitasta Day.
The members of the DOPK who were present on the occasion included Vijay Saproo, Santosh Sharma, Dolly Chrungoo, Babli Koul and Daisy.
Virender Raina while speaking on the occasion highlighted the significance of the day and said that the waters of Ranveer canal has a special significance for us as it carries the waters of river Chandrabhaga that is the river Chenab, adding that according to our religious texts the river Vitasta that is Jhelum and river Chenab are sisters.
“We come here every year to celebrate the birthday of Vitasta river and pray to her that we will one day celebrate the day on the banks of river Jhelum again in Kashmir when it is free from the menace of terrorism,” added Raina.
The proceedings of the programme were conducted by Vijay Saproo and vote of thanks was proposed by Santosh Sharma.
At Verinag, Jotshi Rakesh Sharma solemnised a Maha Yagya, wherein BN Tickoo and Avtar Krishen Pandita were the ‘Yajmans’.
The traditional Flag of Vitasta Divas was hoisted by Dr Raj Nath Hangloo.
On the occasion, General Secretary VDPC Verinag, Pt RK Bhat projected demands with regard to renovation and protection of Shrines and Temples in the Valley.
The Working Committee members of VDPCs present on the occasion included Tej Krishan Raina, Advocate MK Raina, CL Koul, Ashok Ji Bhat, Ravinder Sharma and Sanjay Shah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here