CS discusses MSD Plan for Minority Blocks of J&K

Chief Secretary, B R Sharma chairing a meeting at Jammu on Tuesday.
Chief Secretary, B R Sharma chairing a meeting at Jammu on Tuesday.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Jan 12: The State Level Committee for the implementation of Multi Sectoral Development Programme (MSDP) headed by Chief Secretary, B R Sharma today discussed the proposed  MSD Plan for Minority Blocks of Leh district and Nowshera Block of district Rajouri.
Following the recommendations of the Sachar Committee, the MSDP was conceived as a special initiative to address development deficits of minority concentration areas. MSDP was revamped in 2013-14 for its implementation during the remaining 12th Five Year Plan with the Union Ministry of Minority Affairs adding Nowshera Block of district Rajouri as a Minority block in J&K.
Detailed discussion was held on the proposed action plan with Chief Secretary directing the Social Welfare Department to ensure that the projects are based on standardised specifications and costs. He said each prioritised projects should be selected based on the implementation guidelines i.e to fill the ‘development deficits’ so that resources and attention is given according to the level of deprivation of the area concerned.
Giving details about the progress under the programme, Secretary Social Welfare, Sanjeev Verma said that during the 11th Five Year Plan for district Leh, an amount of Rs 13 crore was received for implementation and full amount has been utilised with UCs already submitted to the Union Government.
Mr Verma said that during 2014-15, the Union Ministry of Minority Affairs conveyed a ceiling of Rs 23 crore including Rs 18 crore for district Leh and Rs 5 crore for Nowshera Block. He said priority has been given to Education, Health and Skill Development during the preparation of the MSD Plan for Nobra, Leh, Khalsi, Nyoma, Kharoo, Durbuk and Nowshera blocks.
Principal Secretary Home, R K Goyal, DGP K Rajendra, Commissioner Secretary H&UD, Bipul Pathak, Commissioner Secretary Finance, N K Choudhary, Commissioner Secretary, IT, Hirdesh Kumar, Secretary Revenue, M A Bhat, Secretary Rural Development, Khurshid A Shah and other senior officers were also present in the meeting.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here