Counting of votes begins for assembly elections in Bihar


New Delhi : Counting of votes has begun for assembly elections in Bihar and bypolls to 58 assembly seats in 11 States. Counting for Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha seat in Bihar is also underway. It began at 8 this morning with postal ballots being counted first. The EVMs were opened after half-an-hour. Bihar Chief Electoral officer HR Srinivasa said the results will take a little more time because more EVMs have been used this time. Fifty five counting centres have been set up in 38 districts of Bihar. In all, 414 counting halls have been prepared. Not more than seven counting tables are allowed in one counting hall to maintain social distancing. Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure peaceful counting across the state. Three-tier security system has been created in and around the counting centres. Jawans of Central Para-Military Forces have been deployed at each centre to ensure trouble-free counting. Additional security forces have been deployed in sensitive areas. Victory procession has been banned. A prohibitory order has been issued in and around counting centres. Election Commission has instructed to follow COVID protocol during the counting. Every counting personnel has to wear a face mask. All counting centres have been sanitized. Social distancing will be maintained during counting of votes. Voting for the 243-member Bihar Assembly was held in three phases on October 28 and November 3 and 7.