Cong protests, demands Grid Station commissioning

Cong activists and locals staging protest at Sunderbani on Saturday.
Cong activists and locals staging protest at Sunderbani on Saturday.

Excelsior Correspondent

SUNDERBANI, July 4: The Congress workers led by former MLC and PCC chief spokesperson Ravinder Sharma, held a protest at Sunderbani town over the issue of power crisis, unprecedented price hike and demanding early commissioning of Grid Station at Siot.
While addressing  protesters, Ex-MLC  said that  people of Sunderbani and adjoining areas are suffering due to  very low voltage  and unscheduled long duration power cuts in the entire belt during this scorching  heat. The  power situation is such worst  that the water supply schemes are also affected  due to non-functioning of pumping machines in view of low voltage. The people are  suffering a lot.
He said Grid Station Siot which was sanctioned   during Congress-PDP rule and work started then, got delayed in its execution due to litigation but was subsequently completed  long back except some minor works which were not completed  expeditiously  as a result the same could not be commissioned so far. He demanded immediate commissioning of the Grid Station Siot.
Sharma further said that while the consumers are  not getting regular power supply, the department is  serving  exorbitant and  huge bills to them which is beyond the  paying capacity of the poor and common people, especially due to economic slowdown.  The power bills of common people during the period should be  waived off, he demanded.
Ex-MLC lashed out at Central Govt for unprecedented price hike of petrol, diesel and essential commodities. He said that petrol has become an indispensable part of our day-to-day life, and we can’t imagine our life without it. But the petrol prices are sky rocketing, and it has eventually affected each and everything. Poor people are already working hard to earn square meal a day and this hike has definitely paralyzed these already burdened people.
Prominent among those participated included Block presidents Dwarka Nath Sharma and Pt Tirath Ram, senior leaders Sub Om Prakash, Ashok Kumar, Anirudh Raina, Shawan Kumar, Nb Sarpanch Kuldeep Kumar, Pt Rameshwar, Sub Maj. Joginder Singh Chib, Ajit Singh and others.