Brahman Sabha urges LG to issue order for all official works in Hindi

Brahman Sabha office bearers holding a special meeting on Wednesday.
Brahman Sabha office bearers holding a special meeting on Wednesday.

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, Aug 12: Dogra Brahman Pratinidhi Sabha Parade today appealed to the new Lt Governor Jammu & Kashmir Manoj Sinha to come out with executive order for performing all official and administrative work in Hindi.
“Since erstwhile Jammu & Kashmir has now become Union Territory, as per its being a Union Territory all administrative and officials meetings and issuance of further orders should be in Hindi language,” said Ved Parkash Sharma, president of DBPS, while addressing an important meeting with office bearers and active members of the Sabha here today.
Sharma said that in Delhi and also in Chandigarh, long established as Union Territories, the official work is performed in Hindi. “Hindi is a beautiful language combining in it all elements of national integration which is the need of the hour,” he added.
Sharma further said that the people of the UT were always with the Lt Governor Sinha’s every bold decisions for speeding up development activities, strengthening democracy at grass root level and ensuring accountability and good governance.
Senior member Advocate P C Sharma came out with suggestion to increase the circle of Sanskrit language and to double the efforts to popularize the same. He appealed the community members to impose self-motivated guest control on marriages and other functions due to ongoing Covid-19 pandemic.
Several resolutions were passed on the occasion which included declaration of holiday on 23rd of September on account of Maharaja Hari Singh’s birth anniversary, setting up of Minority Commission in UT J&K etc.
Virendar Mohan Magotra, Satyanand Sharma, Subash Shastri, Advocate Chander Mohan Sharma, Advocate Devki Nandan Pandotra, Jagan Nath Sharma, N C Sharma, M L Sharma, Ramesh Sharma, Shiv Ram Sharma, Shiv Charan Dass Sharma, Gurdas Sharma, Sunil Sharma, Jia Lal Sharma, S S Baru, Prem Balotra, Som Nath, Devinder Sharma (Babu), Rajesh Bargotra, Satpal Sharma, Raman Sharma, Dr Som Nath Magotra, and prominent social activist Rtd Deputy Commissioner B S Jamwal were present in the meeting and they paid rich tributes to Bhagwan Parshuram as well as Acharya Chanakya.They further demanded that Srinagar Air Port should be declare as Major Som Nath Sharma Air Port, Srinagar, who was India’s first Param Vir Chakra winner.