Brahman Sabha for early delimitation of Assembly seats

Members of Brahman Sabha addressing mediapersons after meeting on Wednesday.
Members of Brahman Sabha addressing mediapersons after meeting on Wednesday.

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Aug 7: Urging the Union Home Minister Amit Shah to immediately constituting Delimitation Committee in view of the announcement made by him in Lok Sabha while presenting abrogation of Article 370 Bill , President of the Dogra Brahman Pratinidhi Sabha Ved Parkash Sharma suggested that demarcating the new Assembly segments should be strictly on the basis of population and geographical areas so that discrimination done by the previous regimes with the people of Jammu region for the last 72 years could come to an end.
“Abrogation of Article 370 and extending citizenship rights to West Pakistani refugees as well as Valmikis, who had been denied State Subject even after 72 years of their settlement in the State, is a historical step by the Modi Government, ” he said while addressing a meeting of the Sabha activists here today.
Describing Home Minister Amit Shah as great Chanayaka of Indian politics, Senior Advocate P C Sharma said that people of Jammu region were looking for an end to discrimination in view of bold steps taken by the Central Govt, including delimitation of Assembly constituencies very soon. However, he added, the President rule should continue for speedy development of the State.
Sabha members also stressed for immediately constituting Minority Commission in the State and early construction of Ram Temple at Ayodhya.
Social activist B S Jamwal, who was also present on the occasion, said that the Delimitation Committee be asked to address the imbalance of voter strength in each constituencies of Jammu/Kashmir regions.
Vice President DBPS, V M Magotra, Satyanand Sharma, Subash Shastri, Tawi Andolan Convener Advocate Chander Mohan Sharma, Jagan Nath Sharma, Nanak Chand Sharma, Shiv Ram Sharma, Romesh Sharma, Madan Lal Sharma, Sat Paul Khajuria, Prem Baltora, Master Tarseem Sharma, K L Sharma, Raman Sharma, S C D Sharma, Jia Lal Sharma, Dr Som Dutt Magotra, Shanti Saaroop Baru, Gurdass Sharma, Rajesh Bargotra, Girdhari Lal Sharma, Sri Kerni and others were also present in the meeting.