BJP releases 2nd list of candidates for LS polls

NEW DELHI: The BJP on Saturday announced the names of its 102 more candidates for the Lok Sabha polls, including the party’s senior leader and Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad from Patna in Bihar and national spokesperson Sambit Patra from Puri in Odisha.

The party fielded Union ministers Narendra Singh Tomar, Jayant Sinha, Shripad Naik from Morena (Madhya Pradesh), Hazaribagh (Jharkhand), North Goa seats respectively.

Party leader Anurag Thakur has been renominated from Hamirpur.

Veteran party leader and sitting Kangra MP Shanta Kumar has been denied tickets. Kishan Kapoor will replace the octogenarian leader as the BJP nominee from Kangra in Himachal Pradesh.

With these 102 names, the party has announced the name of its 286 candidates so far for the election to the 543-member Lok Sabha which will held in seven phases beginning on 11 April and ending on 19 May. (AGENCIES)