APJAC hold meeting against proposed draft of Delimitation Commission

All Parties Joint Action Committee leaders during meeting at Ramban.
All Parties Joint Action Committee leaders during meeting at Ramban.

Excelsior Correspondent

RAMBAN, Mar 12: All Parties Joint Action Committee (APJAC) Ramban held a meeting against the proposed draft of Delimitation Commission.
While speaking, the speakers said that the Delimitation Commission has become the frontal organisation of BJP, whose sole objective has become to dis-empower people.
“We have strong reason to believe that the said draft is the outcome of political exercise carried out by BJP workers”, they said.
The prominent leaders who spoke on were Dr Shamshad Shan DDC Chairperson Ramban and District Chariman APJAC, Fairoz Khan Congress leader and Former NSUI National President District Convener APJAC, Iftayaz Ahmed Shoil J&KNPP, Tariq Saleem PDP, Mohan Singh Drora Block President Congress Party Ramban, Tanveer Katoch Sarpanch Danmasta B, Partab Singh Chib Sangaldan, Mohd Farid Naik, Amar Singh, Raiz Ahmed Mir NC Block President Ukhral, Hmaid Khan Senior Congress Leader, Mohd Arif Block President NC Ramban, MS Mughal, Sumber, Mohd Farooq Shan Gool and others.
Dr Shamshad Shan said that there is great resentment amongst the common masses on the recent draft notification of Delimitation Commission. “The draft notification has been prepared without taking into consideration the regional, geographical, social and political aspirations of the people of this region”, Dr Shan said.
Dr Shamshad added that Gool-Sangaldan Constituency shall be made a new constituency which will not only go along way for the socio-economic development of this most backward and hilly region in the entire Jammu and Kashmir but will also be in the larger interest of the common masses.
Fairoz Khan Congress leader, Former NSUI National President and District Convener APJAC said that Banihal Assembly segment may be kept intact which comprises Tehsil Banihal, Khari, Ramsoo and Pogal Paristan. There should be three assembly segments in district Ramban–Gool-Sangaldan, Ramban and Banihal, Khan added.
Further strategies and plans of action were also discussed, once the draft came into public domain, the leaders said.
All other leaders and parties except BJP supported the demand and said they will fight for this cause.