24 in fray for Jammu, 9 in Baramulla

Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, Mar 28: Dogra Swabhiman Sangathan covering candidate and Ch Lal Singh’s wife, Kanta Andotra, who had filed her papers from Jammu- Poonch Parliamentary constituency, today withdrew her nomination at Returning Officer’s Office Jammu.
District Election Officer Ramesh Kumar accepted her withdrawal as candidate.
With her withdrawal, 24 candidates are left in fray for Jammu- Poonch Lok Sabha seat. They included Syed Aqib Hussain of Independent Peoples’ Party, Jugal Kishore of BJP, Badrinath of BSP, Mohammad Younis of JK Peer Panjal Awami Party, Susheel Kumar of Hindustan Nirman Dal, Javaid Ahmed of All India Forward Bloc, Raman Bhalla of INC, Gursagar Singh of Navarang Congress Party, Prof. Bhim Singh of JK National Panthers Party, Lal Singh of Dogra Swabhiman Sangathan and Rajiv Chunni, Subhash Chander, Shazbad Shabnam, Perseen Singh, Gulam Mustafa Chowdhary, Satish Poonchi, Bahadur, Manish Sahni, Sakander Ahmad Nourani, Tarsem Lal Khullar, Balwan Singh, Syed Zeshan Haider, Anil Singh and Ajay Kumar, all Independents.
The polling will be held on April 11.
Meanwhile, the contesting candidates were allotted election symbols by the Returning Officer today.
Meanwhile, Returning Officer for Baramulla Parliamentary constituency Dr G N Itoo today informed that 9 candidates were in fray today.
Those in fray now include Haji Farooq Ahamd Mir of INC, Mohammad Maqbool War of BJP, Jahangir Khan of J&KNPP, Abdul Qayoom Wani of J&KPDP, Mohammad Akbar Lone of J&KNC, Raja Aijaz Ali of J&KPC and Javid Ahmad Qureshi , Syed Najeeb Shah Naqvi and Engineer Rashid, all Independents.
It is pertinent to mention that as many as 14 candidates had filed their nomination papers wherein 4 nominations were rejected during their scrutiny. One candidate namely Abdul Rasheed Shaheen (Independent) withdrew his nomination today on the last date of withdrawal.
Meanwhile, the Election Commission of India today issued notification for third phase of Lok Sabha election to be held on April 23.
According to the notification, candidates can file their nomination papers from 28-03-2019 to 04-04-2019. The scrutiny of the nominations will be held on April 5, while as last date for withdrawal of candidature is April 8.
It is to mention here that Lok Sabah election for Anantnag constituency (for Anantnag district) will be held on April 23, for Kulgam district on April 29 and for Pulwama and Shopian districts on May 6.
According to Returning Officer Anantnag Parliamentary constituency, an Independent Candidate namely, Dr Ridwana Sanam today filed her nomination papers.