12 Councilors move No Trust Motion against president, VP

Excelsior Correspondent
KATHUA, July 12: Twelve members of Kathua Municipal Council have moved a No Confidence Motion against its president, Naresh Sharma and vice president, Rekha Kumari today.
They have given a letter to District Development Commissioner, Kathua, Rahul Yadav in this regard. Both president and vice president of Kathua Municipal Council are from BJP. The No Confidence Motion is supported by five BJP members four independents and three opposition Congress members out of 21 member house. Among the remaining nine members who are not supporting the No Trust Motion eight belong to BJP and one is independent supporting the party.
The BJP has a total strength of 13 members in the 21 member House besides, they were supported by one independent taking their tally to 14. With five BJP members joining the opposite camp in moving the No Trust Motion against president and vice president of Municipal Council the BJP has been left in minority in the House. However, the decision on seeking the trust vote has not been taken by the DC yet.
The No Trust Motion was submitted by 12 Councilors headed by Anurudh Sharma, Ravinder Pathania and Ajay Kumar to DC Kathua, Rahul Yadav. They demanded that voting be held through secret ballot on the floor of the House. Councilor Anurudh made some allegations against the president and vice president saying they did not take the councilors into confidence and their self styled role and functioning is undemocratic. This is second time since last one year when the No Confidence Motion has been moved against the president and vice president of Kathua Municipal Council.